Stamping 411 Sketch Challenge

ssc107Here is the sketch that we were given this week from the gals at Stamping 411.  It’s a very basic sketch, but it was actually a little hard to come up with an idea for it.  There were so many options I didn’t know what to choose!  🙂  In the end, I chose to keep in simple.  I tend to do that a lot…  I also rotated the sketch.

S411 Layout #2 003

For this card, I used Rose Red cardstock as my base.  I used Pretty In Pink cardstock for the center which I ran through my Big Shot using the Manhattan Flower Textured Impressions die.  I just recently got this die and it is the first time I have used it.  I don’t know why I held out so long – it’s so easy and pretty!  The die simply embosses the rose design onto your piece of cardstock.  Then, I decided to color mine using Stampin’ Pastels and a sponge dauber.  The raised portions of the flower picked up more of the color which created a great outline.  Then I punched around the empty spaces of the cardstock using my paper piercer and the mat pack.  The sentiment was stamped in Rose Red ink and punched out with the Large Oval punch.  After layering the sentiment onto a piece of Rose Red cardstock (punched with the Scalloped Oval punch) I adhered it to my card using Dimensionals.  All this sounds like a lot of steps, but it really only took about 20 minutes to make!

Supplies:  Rose Red cardstock, Pretty in Pink cardstock, Manhattan Flower Textured Impressions die, Big Shot, Paper Piercer, Stampin’ Pastels, Sponge Dauber, Rose Red classic ink pad, Large Oval Punch, Scalloped Oval Punch, Dimensionals

Stamp Set:  Short & Sweet

3 Comments

Filed under Projects, Sketch Challenges

3 responses to “Stamping 411 Sketch Challenge

  1. I really like your take on this and how you flipped the simple sketch to make it work with your embossing folder! This is a stunner!

  2. Great card! Sleek and lovely.

  3. diana

    am trying to source a Manhattan Embossing plate. does anyone have spare stock for sale? Thanks. Di Pirie johannesburg

Leave a Reply

